Growing…

Last night during my evening walk I was surprised at how high the corn was in the fields around the house.  I stood on my tiptoes, reached as high as I could (I am 5’2″) and the corn hoovered another 4′ beyond my reach!  In spite of my daily walks, it seemed as if the corn had secretly grown incredibly tall overnight!  cornfield

Gingerbread 2005

Gingerbread 2014 from I Love Ornaments #3

I started thinking about my painting skills.  I paint just about every day, but I never stopped to think about how much I have grown as a painter.  When I look at what I painted years ago, the growth is quite evident.  However, when painting daily, often we don’t see the progress.  I think it is good to stop to realize how our painting enjoyment continually hones our skills and improves our talents.

Often we get discouraged if a project doesn’t turn out the way we anticipated.  We get frustrated when the strokes don’t behave.  Stop and take a moment to analyze your current level.  Would you have been able to paint as well a year ago?  Are the projects you tackle today more advanced?  As you continually push your limits, you are growing and increasing those talents.

I just finished a design and am so very pleased with the results.  I am very happy with what I do today, however, in the back of my mind, I know that what I do tomorrow will be even better.  I can’t wait to see what will be on my painting table next year!

Remember to never get discouraged, just like the corn, you will allways growing!

Leave a Reply

