Does it take talent?

Yesterday, I spent most of the day working on a new design only to decide it was a disaster.  At first I felt like a total failure and wondered if I had lost my knack!  After I settled down and accepted the fact that this was not working, I started to focus on what was wrong.  I used my years of painting to analyse and evaluate why it was a flop.  I decided the elements were the wrong size for the piece, the placement was bad, the colors were muddy.    

With new determination and confidence (although a little shakey), I sanded to the base and started all over.  The results were wonderful and I felt so much pride and satisfaction.  If I had not such a rough start, the victory would not have been so sweet!

I wondered about new painters and how they feel when something doesn’t turn out well.  We are so critical of ourselves and so quick to admit defeat.  If we calm down, we can learn much from our “not so great” painting experiences.  It is so hard to step back with a critical eye and not take the shortcomings personally.  Looking at why a project failed is often more educational than sailing through smoothly.  Is it the brushes, the paint, surface not prepped properly, not enough or too much water, wrong color,..??  There are so many factors that effect the end results that talent really has little to do with it! 

Some are certainly born with exceptional talents, however, we can all attest to the fact that the more we practice (anything), the better we become.  It takes time to achieve high goals, but, with patience, they are certainly attainable.  Art, in any form, can be tremendously rewarding and fun.  Don’t cheat yourself because of failure.  I am sure that every artist, no matter how high the caliber has had more than their share of rejects.  Several of my best selling designs are a result of a blunder.  

So, the moral of the story is, toss out preconceived ideas about talent.  Play, have fun and don’t be so hard on yourself.  Art is an exciting adventure and will take you to amazing places that you won’t want to miss!!

Leave a Reply

